Praise

“Writing with a deep knowledge of the enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows.”
Library Journal, Starred Review

“…masterful language… Weiss’ novel is a great suggestion for fans of the Big Stone Gap books, by Adriana Trigiani, and Mitford series, by Jan Karon.”
Booklist, Starred Review

“Part gothic, part romance, part heartbreaking Loretta Lynn ballad—Weiss’ tale is a beguiling, compelling read.”
Kirkus Reviews

“…tender but powerful debut…”
Publishers Weekly

“If the Creek Don’t Rise is a satisfyingly complete novel, but it also manages to leave Weiss room to return if she chooses. With its bewitching residents and rugged landscape, a journey to Baines Creek is a trip worth taking, and Weiss is likely to find many readers eagerly willing to travel with her again.”
—Maximum Shelf Awareness

“This one nearly broke my heart. With deeply human characters I will not easily forget, Weiss captures the fierce pull of desperation and the formidable power of hope. An impressive debut from a talent to watch.”
—Kathleen Grissom, author of the New York Times bestsellers The Kitchen House and Glory Over Everything

“The Appalachian voice is very much alive in this debut novel. Weiss’s beautiful writing transported me to another place… A great story and as southern as you can get! Loved it!”
—Stephanie Crowe, Page and Pallette (Fairhope, AL)

“Every page of Leah Weiss’ debut, If The Creek Don’t Rise, has a pulse as fierce and unyielding as its Appalachian setting… It is a lush exploration of the darkest rooms in the human heart, and the brightest fires of the human spirit. Weiss’ remarkable gift for language left me breathless, and her characters, distinctive and unapologetically human, will haunt me for some time.”
—Erika Marks, author of The Last Treasure

“Leah Weiss brings Appalachia to life in Sadie Blue’s story. The setting becomes a richly developed character, and the hardscrabble tale satisfied this reader to the very last page.”
—Ann Hite, author of the award-winning Ghost on Black Mountain and Sleeping Above Chaos

“This is for fans of Ron Rash, Wiley Cash, or Nick Butler. Simply fabulous writing topped by breathtaking characters who you will think about long after you close the pages of this stunning novel.”
—Jessilynn Norcross, McLean & Eakin (Petoskey, MI)

“If The Creek Don’t Rise by Leah Weiss will give readers reason to laugh, to cry, to whoop for joy, and to scream with anger… This story of pluck and courage will energize that acquiescent core in many of us.”
—Nancy Simpson-Brice, Book Vault (Oskaloosa, IA)